TransGriot 2018 Endorsements- Local and Texas State Races

With early voting about to start in the Lone Star State on Monday, and knowing that many of you Texas TransGriot readers have been asking for it, it’s time for me to post my endorsements for various Texas state and local races. 

They are a combo from the Houston GLBT Caucus, Dallas Stonewall Democrats, Houston Chronicle  and my own thoughts and observations.

If you’re registered to vote, fantastic.  Take yourself, your yellow voter registration card and photo ID to your fave early voting spot and handle your political business.   Early voting runs from October 22-November 2.   Election Day is on November 6 

US Senator

Beto O’Rourke 

US Representative

TX 1- Shirley McKellar 

TX 2- Todd LittonTX 5- Dan Wood 

TX 6- Jana Lynne Sanchez 

TX 7– Lizzie Pannill Fletcher

TX 8– Mike David 

TX 9–  Al Green 

TX 10– Mike Siegel

TX 12– Vanessa AdiaTX 14- Adrienne Bell

TX 15– Vicente Gonzalez 

TX 16-Veronica Escobar 

TX 18– Sheila Jackson Lee 

TX 20– Joaquin Castro 

TX 22– Sri Preston KulkarniTX 23- Gina Ortiz Jones

TX 24- Jan McDowell

TX 26- Linsey Fagan

TX 27– Eric Holguin

TX 29- Sylvia GarciaTX 30-  Eddie Bernice Johnson
TX 32- Colin Allred 

TX 33– Marc VeaseyTX 34- Filemon Vela

TX 35- Lloyd Doggett

TX 36– Dayna Steele


Lupe Valdez

Lt Governor 

Mike Collier

Attorney General

Justin Nelson

Comptroller of Public Accounts

Joi Chevalier 

Commissioner of Agriculture

Kim Olson 

Texas Railroad Commissioner

Roman McAllen

Texas State Board of EducationDistrict 2- Ruben Cortez, Jr 

District 4- Lawrence Allen 

District 7- Elizabeth ‘Eliz’  Markowitz 

District 11– Carla Morton 

District 12– Suzanne Smith 

District 13-Aicha Davis

Texas State SenatorDistrict 2- Kendall Scudder 

District 7- David Romero

District 8- Mark Phariss

District 9- Gwenn Burud 

District 10- Beverly Powell 

District 15- John Whitmire 

District 16 -Nathan JohnsonDistrict 17- Rita Lucido

District 23– Royce West 

District 25– Steven Kling 

Texas House of RepresentativesDistrict 15- Lorena Perez McGill

District 26- L. Sarah DeMerchant 

District 27- Ron Reynolds 

District 28- Meghan Scoggins

District 48- Donna Howard

District 50- Celia Israel 

District 62 –Valerie Hefner District 75 – Mary Gonzalez

District 85– Jennifer Cantu 

District 92– Steve Riddell

District 94– Finnigan Jones 

District 95– Nicole Collier 

District 100– Eric Johnson

District 102- Ana-Maria Ramos 

District 103– Rafael Anchia
District 104-  Jessica Gonzalez

District 105- Terry Meza

District 107– Victoria Neave 

District 112– Brandy Chambers District 113– Rhetta Andrews Bowers 

District 115 – Julie JohnsonDistrict 123– Diego Bernal 

District 124– Ina Minjarez 

District 126-Natali Hurtado 

District 130– Fred Infortunio

District 131 -Alma Allen District 132- Gina Calanni

District 134– Allison SawyerDistrict 135- Jon Rosenthal

District 137– Gene Wu 

District 138-Adam MilasincicDistrict 140- Armando Walle

District 141- Senfronia ThompsonDistrict 144- Mary Ann Perez 

District 145– Carol Alvarado

District 146– Shawn Thierry

District 147– Garnet Coleman  

District 148 -Jessica Farrar 

District 149– Hubert Vo

District 150– Michael Shawn Kelly

Texas Supreme Court

Place 2– Steven Kirkland

Place 4– R.K. Sandhill

Place 6– Kathy Cheng

Texas Court of Criminal Appeals 

Place 1- Maria T. Jackson 

Place 7- Ramona Franklin 

Texas Court of Appeals

Justice, 1st Court of Appeals- Place 6- Sarah Beth Landau 

Justice, 1st Court of Appeals- Place 7– Julie CountissJustice, 1st Court of Appeals- Place 8- Richard HightowerJustice, 1st Court of Appeals- Place 9- Peter Kelly

Justice 14th Court of Appeals- Place 3- Jerry Zimmerer

Justice 14th Court of Appeals- Place 4- Charles Spain 

Justice 14th Court of Appeals- Place 5- Frances Bourloit

Justice 14th Court of Appeals- Place 6- Meagan Hassan 

Justice 14th Court of Appeals- Place 8- Margaret ‘Meg’ Poissant

District Judge

55th Judicial District- Latosha Lewis Payne

113th Judicial District- Rabeea Collier 

116th Judicial District– Tonya Parker
157th Judicial District- Tanya Garrison

180th Judicial District- DaSean Jones

182nd Judicial District- Danilo ‘Danny’ Lacayo

184th Judicial District- Abigail Anastacio 

189th Judicial District- Scott ‘Dolli’ Dollinger

190th Judicial District- Beau Miller

208th Judicial District- Greg Glass

209th Judicial District- Brian Warren 

230th Judicial District- Chris Morton 

232nd Judicial District-Joshua Seth Hill  

234th Judicial District- Lauren Reeder 

246th Judicial District- Angela Graves Harrington

263rd Judicial District- Amy Martin 

269th Judicial District- Cory Sepolio

270th Judicial District- Dedra Davis

281th Judicial District- Christine Weems

295th Judicial District- Donna Roth

Family District Judge 

245th Judicial District- Tristan Longino

247th Judicial District- Janice Berg

248th Judicial District- Hilary Unger

257th Judicial District- Sandra Peake

280th Judicial District- Barbara J. Stalder

308th Judicial District- Gloria Lopez 

309th Judicial District- Linda Marie Dunson

310th Judicial District- Sonya Heath 

311th Judicial District- Germaine Tanner

312th Judicial District- Clinton ‘Chip’ Wells

313th Judicial District- Natalia Oakes

314th Judicial District- Michelle Moore 

315th Judicial District- Leah Shapiro

County Criminal Court At LawNo 1- Alex Salgado

No 3- Erica Hughes

No 4- Shannon Baldwin

No 5- David M. FletcherNo 6- Kelley Andrews 

No 7- Andrew A. Wright

No 8- Franklin Bynum 

No 9- Tonia J. Finch 

No 11- Sedrick T. Walker, Jr

No 13- Raul Rodriguez

No 15-  Tonya Jones

County Probate Court At Law

No 1- Jerry Simoneaux

No 2- Michael Newman 

No 3- Jason Cox 

No 4- James Horwitz

County Civil Court At Law

No 1- George Barnstone 

No 2-Jim F. Kovach

No 3- LaShawn A. Williams 

No 4- William ‘Bill’ McLeod 

Austin City Council

District 3– Jessica Cohen  

District 9- Danielle Skidmore 

Harris County District Clerk 

Marilyn Burgess 

Harris County Clerk

Diane Trautman 

Harris County Treasurer

Dylan Osborne 

Harris County Judge 

Lina Hidalgo 

Harris County Commissioner

Precinct 2-Adrian Garcia

Precinct 4– Penny Shaw 

Harris County School Trustee

Position 3 At Large– Richard Cantu

Position 4, Pct 3- Andrea Duhon 

Position 6, Pct 1– Danyahel Norris

Harris County Justice of the Peace

Precinct 3, Place 2– Lucia Bates 

Scroll to Top