The TransGriot 2019 Houston Municipal Runoff Election Endorsements

The November 5 elections left the mayor’s chair and several council seats in runoffs.

The City Council District B race was removed from the ballot and settled in a special election because of a lawsuit filed by Renee Jefferson Smith after she finished third and failed to make the runoff in that crowded 14 candidate race to replace term limited councilmember Jerry Davis.

The people who did make the runoff were Tarsha Jackson and Cynthia Bailey

Bailey signed an affidavit when filing to run back in August stating that she hadn’t been convicted of a felony, but was back in 2007.  She was told that because of that forgery conviction, she could run for any position except a state of Texas one.

Jefferson contends that because of the felony, Bailey is ineligible, and as the third place finisher, she should move up to the runoff.  Bailey’s eligibility will be determined in an upcoming court case.

Related image

Will be keeping an eye on those proceedings, but the date of the December 14 runoff

 election is still looming with early voting starting on November 27 from 7 AM-7 PM .

After the holiday, early voting resumes from December 2-7  from 7-7 PM.   On December 8, you can vote from 1-6 PM, and on December 9-10 from 7 AM-7 PM 

The Runoff Endorsements:

Mayor- Sylvester Turner

City Council

At Large 1- Raj Salhotra

At Large 2- David Robinson

At Large 3 – Janaeya Carmouche

At Large 4 –Dr Letitia Plummer 

At Large  5- Sallie Alcorn

District B-  Tarsha Jackson

District C –Shelley Kennedy
District D– Carolyn Evans Shabazz 

District F – Tiffany Thomas

District H- Isabel Longoria

District J-  Sandra Rodriguez

Houston Community College System Trustee

District 1 – Monica Flores Richart 

District 2-  Rhonda Skillern Jones

HISD Trustee

District I- Kathy Bluefield Daniels

District IV- Patricia Allen 

Texas State Representative 

HD 28-  Eliz Markowitz 

HD 148- Anna Eastman

Scroll to Top