Houston Stonewall Young Democrats 2016 Primary Endorsement Meeting

Early voting for the March 1 Texas primary elections start next Tuesday, February 16 and runs until February 26, so organizations are rushing to get their endorsements done before the first ballots get cast for that primary election

Got the opportunity last night to be in the Little Bigs house in Montrose in reporter mode as the Houston Stonewall Young Democrats conducted their candidate endorsement meeting last night to a room packed full of candidates, campaign staffers and their supporters seeking the HSYD electoral stamp of approval

The Houston Stonewall Young Dems efficiently got through their relatively smooth and rancor free endorsement meeting in a little over an hour and thirty minutes, and it was fascinating as a political junkie to see it happen.

These are the people who received the 2016 HSYD primary endorsements:

Harris County Tax Assessor-Collector Brandon Dudley
Harris County District Attorney Kim Ogg
State Representative District 126 Joy Dawson 

State Representative District 131 Hon. Alma Allen

State Representative District 134 Ben Rose

State Representative District 137 Hon. Gene Wu

State Representative District 139 Randy Bates

State Representative District 144 Hon. Cody Ray Wheeler

State Representative District 148 Hon. Jessica Farrar

Harris County Sheriff Hon. Ed Gonzalez

Constable, Precinct No. 1 Hon. Alan Rosen

Constable, Precinct No. 3 Ken Melancon

Constable, Precinct No. 4 Jeff McGowen

Constable, Precinct No. 6 Hon. Heliodoro Martinez Jr.

Constable, Precinct No. 7 Hon. May Walker
District Judge, 11th Judicial District Rabeea Collier

District Judge, 61st Judicial District Julie Countiss

District Judge, 129th Judicial District Hon. Michael Gomez

District Judge, 151st Judicial District Hon. Mike Engelhart

District Judge, 164th Judicial District Hon. Alexandra Smoots-Hogan

District Judge, 165th Judicial District Hon. Josefina Rendon

District Judge, 174th Judicial District Raul Rodriguez

District Judge, 176th Judicial District Shawna Reagin

District Judge, 179th Judicial District Hon. Randy Roll

District Judge, 177th Judicial District David Singer

District Judge, 215th Judicial District Joshua Verde

District Judge, 333rd Judicial District Daryl Moore

District Judge, 334th Judicial District Hon. Steve Kirkland

District Judge, 337th Judicial District Herb Ritchie

District Judge, 351st Judicial District Greg Glass

Judge, County Civil Court at Law No. 1 George Barnstone

Justice of the Peace, Precinct No. 1 Tanya Makany-Rivera

Justice of the Peace, Precinct No. 3, Place 1 Joe Stephens

Justice of the Peace, Precinct No. 5, Place 1 William McLeod

Justice of the Peace, Precinct No. 6, Place 1 Hon. Richard Vara

Justice of the Peace, Precinct No. 7, Place 1 Cheryl Elliott Thornton

Justice, 14th Court of Appeals District, Place 2 Hon. Jim Sharp

County School Trustee Position 2, Precinct 4 Marilyn Burgess

State Board of Education, District 6 Dakota Carter

Congratulation to all the candidates receive the HSYD endorsements, and best of luck in the primary.

Scroll to Top